Office of Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education calls for fine art submissions

  • Nov. 6, 2013


BLOOMINGTON, Ind. -- The Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education is accepting submissions for the Fine Art Awards, which honor and celebrate undergraduate creative activity at Indiana University Bloomington.

Undergraduate students pursuing bachelor’s degrees of any major may submit images of up to five pieces of two-dimensional or three-dimensional artistic work completed while attending IU Bloomington from Nov. 1, 2012, to Nov. 15, 2013. Submissions are due Nov. 15. The full competition rules and submission form are available on the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education website.

The School of Fine Arts Fellowship Committee will adjudicate the awards and select first-, second- and third-place recipients. A piece from each winning artist’s submission will be added to the campus art collection and displayed at IU Bloomington. Scholarships in the amount of $1,000, $500 and $250 will be awarded to the first, second and third winners respectively.

Six student artists have been honored with Fine Art Awards since the creation of the Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education in 2009. Previous recipients include Brooks Cashbaugh, Gabrielle Chiekh, Candace Pederson, Benjamin Cirgin, Rebecca A. Jones and Katie Hayden. Their winning works are on display at Maxwell Hall 100.

The Office of the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education at Indiana University Bloomington supports a broad range of activities that promote innovation and enrichment in the curriculum and leads campus-wide programs and initiatives in support of outstanding academic experiences for all undergraduates. 

Fine art awards

Fine art awards

Print Quality Photo

Kyla Cox Deckard